Policy Working Group

The WG members are the central point for EASO to align on policy recommendations for dossiers at EU, WHO and international levels.


The purpose of EASO’s Policy Working Group is to align on core messaging and outreach at all levels across key policy dossiers which can have a transnational or supranational (EU, WHO, OECD etc) importance to EASO’s work.

Working closely with the EASO Policy Team the Policy Working Group is comprised of content experts from the EASO membership from across different disciplines and geographies already active in policy advocacy at national or supra-national levels.


The Policy Working Group makes recommendations for priority dossiers for EASO to engage with which contribute to EASO’s overarching policy strategy as well as work towards optimising strategic policy engagement and outreach to other disciplines and stakeholder groups for policy.

The WG members also are the central point for EASO to align on policy recommendations for dossiers at EU, WHO and international levels.

Current Members

Jennifer Lynn Baker PhD.

Jennifer Lynn BakerSenior Researcher, Centre for Clinical Research and Prevention, Denmark

Emma Boyland

Emma BoylandSenior Lecturer in Appetite and Obesity at the Institute of Population Health, University of Liverpool, United Kingdom

Cilius Esmann Fonvig MD, PhD.

Cilius Esmann FonvigObesity Expert, Postdoctoral Fellow, BRIDGE Translational Excellence Programme, University of Copenhagen and the Danish Childhood Obesity Biobank, Denmark

Gema Fruhbeck

Gema FruhbeckSpecialist in Endocrinology and Nutrition and Co-Director, the Obesity Area, Clínica Universidad de Navarra, Spain

Jason Halford

Jason HalfordPresident of the European Association for the Study of Obesity, and Head of the School of Psychology, University of Leeds, United Kingdom

Maria Hassapidou

Maria HassapidouProfessor, Department of Nutritional Sciences and Dietetics, International Hellenic University, Greece

Grace O’Malley

Grace O’MalleySenior Lecturer, Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland (RCSI) & Clinical Lead, Child & Adolescent Obesity Service, Children’s Health Ireland, Ireland

Jean Michel Oppert MD, PhD

Jean Michel OppertProfessor of Nutrition, University Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris, France

Liesbeth van Rossum

Liesbeth van RossumProfessor of Medicine, internist-endocrinologist, Erasmus MC, Netherlands

Paolo Sbraccia D, Ph.D.

Paolo SbracciaProfessor, Department of Systems Medicine, University of Rome “Tor Vergata”, Chief of the Internal Medicine Unit and Obesity Center at the University Hospital Policlinico Tor Vergata, Italy

Bart van der Schueren

Bart van der SchuerenProfessor, Dr in Endocrinology, University Hospital Leuven, President, Belgian Association for the Study of Obesity, Leuven, Belgium

Volkan Yumuk

Volkan YumukProfessor of Medicine, Division of Endocrinology, Metabolism & Diabetes, Turkey

Jacqueline Bowman

Jacqueline BowmanHead of policy, EASO

Euan Woodward

Euan WoodwardExecutive Director, EASO

Further Information

For more information about the Policy Working Group, contact Jacqueline Bowman-Busato, Head of Policy at jbowman@easo.org